Fedi breakup

· iiogama.0x212.net

Hey everybody,

I think I'm breaking up with the fediverse.

Not because I don't like the fediverse or think the fediverse should be something different, or even think it shouldn't exist (heavens no!). I think the fedi is incredible, I really hope it continues to grow, and I will continue supporting it's developers and promoting it as a main-stream alternative social network.

But I've realized that the fediverse is a tool for transition, not a destination.

# Web 1.0

The original were already near perfect.

# Web 2.0

Not a destination, but a tool for transition

# Web 3.0

Shit...

# Fedi sustainability

The fediverse is not sustainable. It is easy for small instance to get overwhelmed with infrastructure cost because they federate with large instances. This creates an environment that favors those with the resources to thrive. Entities with capital can outlast those without capital in the pursuit of profit

# Send me an email!

return home